Red Bull had an afternoon to forget as Daniel Ricciardo was close to being eliminated in Q1 before eventually falling in Q2.
Team-mate Verstappen could only muster seventh place on the grid ahead of tomorrow’s race.
But it could have been much worse for the Dutchman as he was forced to explain himself to the stewards after Q3 was wrapped up.
It was thought Verstappen had “unnecessary impeded” Romain Grosjean, but he was cleared of any wrongdoing and his sketchy record this season avoids another blemish.
“The Stewards examined video and audio evidence of the incident,” an F1 statement read.
“The Stewards heard from Max Verstappen, the driver of car 33, Romain Grosjean, the driver of car 8 and the team representatives.
“Verstappen was on a fast lap but then caught Gasly early in the lap. He then aborted the lap. Grosjean who was on a fast lap, was catching Verstappen.
“He was six seconds behind at Turn 11 and four seconds behind at Turn 13. Verstappen was close to Gasly going into Turn 13. At this point [Pierre] Gasly set up for his flying lap and Verstappen in turn slowed to get a gap.
“Grosjean caught Verstappen between Turn 13 and Turn 14 which impeded Grosjean.
“While Verstappen was given reasonable, if slightly delayed information by his team, the Stewards took into account that with the very wet conditions, there was limited visibility ahead, and no visibility behind the drivers.
“The gaps between Gasly, Verstappen and Grosjean changed over a very short section of the track, and under the conditions the Stewards determined that the impeding was not, as the rule states, ‘unnecessary impeding’ and therefore take no further action.
“Competitors are reminded that they have the right to appeal the decisions of the Stewards (with the exception of those referred to in Article 12.2.4 of the FIA International Sporting Code), in accordance with Article 15 of the FIA International Sporting Code and Article 9.1.1 of the FIA Judicial and Disciplinary Rules, within the applicable time limits.”